SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Software > Drivers
User Name
Password


No sound after reformatting XP Home

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 23 votes, 3.74 average. Display Modes

  #16  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:26 AM
kerihoule Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Going insane, please help!

hi, i hope this is the info you need to help me, its been months with no sound and im getting annoyed! hope someone can help!


Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180
Computer Name 3DED6BFF8B5E457
User Name Deb
Logon Domain 3DED6BFF8B5E457

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Celeron II, 700 MHz (10.5 x 67)
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset Intel Whitney i810E
System Memory 254 MB (PC133 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (08/15/00)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter Intel(R) 82810E Graphics Controller (32 MB)
3D Accelerator Intel i752
Monitor Compaq CV915 (905GA23QA732)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Intel 82801AA I/O Controller Hub - AC'97 Audio Adapter

Storage:
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive Maxtor 93073U6 (30 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/66)
Optical Drive TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-M1402 (12x/40x DVD-ROM)

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 29302 MB (19629 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Network:
Primary IP Address 192.168.0.100
Primary MAC Address 00-10-B5-7D-A4-3C
Network Adapter HP EN1207D-TX PCI 10/100 Fast Ethernet Adapter (192.168.0.100)

Peripherals:
Printer Broderbund PDF Converter 2.10d
Printer HP Officejet 6200 series fax
Printer HP Officejet 6200 series
Printer Intuit Internal Printer
Printer Lexmark X73
USB Device HP Officejet 6200 series
USB Device Officejet 6200 series (DOT4USB)
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Printing Support
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-22-2006, 03:49 PM
bookworm's Avatar
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 15,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerihoule
hi, i hope this is the info you need to help me, its been months with no sound and im getting annoyed! hope someone can help!


Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180
Computer Name 3DED6BFF8B5E457
User Name Deb
Logon Domain 3DED6BFF8B5E457

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Celeron II, 700 MHz (10.5 x 67)
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset Intel Whitney i810E
System Memory 254 MB (PC133 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (08/15/00)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter Intel(R) 82810E Graphics Controller (32 MB)
3D Accelerator Intel i752
Monitor Compaq CV915 (905GA23QA732)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Intel 82801AA I/O Controller Hub - AC'97 Audio Adapter

Storage:
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive Maxtor 93073U6 (30 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/66)
Optical Drive TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-M1402 (12x/40x DVD-ROM)

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 29302 MB (19629 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Network:
Primary IP Address 192.168.0.100
Primary MAC Address 00-10-B5-7D-A4-3C
Network Adapter HP EN1207D-TX PCI 10/100 Fast Ethernet Adapter (192.168.0.100)

Peripherals:
Printer Broderbund PDF Converter 2.10d
Printer HP Officejet 6200 series fax
Printer HP Officejet 6200 series
Printer Intuit Internal Printer
Printer Lexmark X73
USB Device HP Officejet 6200 series
USB Device Officejet 6200 series (DOT4USB)
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Printing Support

It's not giveing me the motherboard, do you know the make and model, look for a label on the tower, is a serisl number shown as S/N or a model.

Cheers
__________________
Hope this helps

Barbara MCP

Friends are
Gods apology
for relations.


It's not what you know, it's who you know ( especially the members of the Software Tips&Tricks Forum )
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:10 AM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
Another person with no sound :(

Hi, i've followed the two links that you've posted on this thread allready(admittedly the realtek driver stuff is still downloading but i think i've allready tried these drivers before) i've not had sound working for a while now and my new creative sound card came today which is installed and updated but my computer is still saying there is no audio device for this computer, have i got to change somthing in the bios or somthing to get it to use this device? i've disabled the onboard sound device because it's not installed properly and that still hasn't done the trick. any ideas would be great, thanks , dave. ^^
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:20 AM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
oops forgot system info

Operating System System Model
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600) Enclosure Type: Desktop
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
1.60 gigahertz AMD Sempron
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
128 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: SiS-760
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 04/13/2005
Drives Memory Modules c,d
80.02 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
40.29 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

SAMSUNG DVD-ROM SD-616Q [CD-ROM drive]
SONY DVD RW DW-Q28A [CD-ROM drive]
3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

WDC WD800JB-00JJC0 [Hard drive] (80.02 GB) -- drive 0 1024 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot 'A0' has 512 MB
Slot 'A1' has 512 MB
Local Drive Volumes

c: (NTFS on drive 0) 80.02 GB 40.29 GB free

Network Drives
None detected
Controllers Display
Standard floppy disk controller
Primary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x)
Secondary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x)
SiS 5513 IDE UDMA Controller
Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller RADEON 9600 SERIES [Display adapter]
RADEON 9600 SERIES - Secondary [Display adapter]
Default Monitor
Bus Adapters Multimedia
SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller (3x)
SiS PCI to USB Enhanced Host Controller Sound Blaster Audigy

^-------that's the belarc info------^
---------below is the everest stuff--------

Motherboard Name Foxconn 755A01/K8S755A Series (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN, IEEE-1394)

Motherboard Chipset SiS 760, AMD Hammer

BIOS Type Award (04/13/05)

Audio Adapter SiS 7012 Audio Device

Audio Adapter Creative Audigy LS Audio Processor

DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:57 AM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
i think it's one of these but i don't know which

K8S755A-6LRS
- AMD Athlon™ 64 / Sempron™ processors, Socket 754
- 1600 MT/s HyperTransport™
- DDR400 / DDR333 / DDR 266 DRAM, Max 3Gb
- AGP 8X slot (1.5v only)
- Serial ATA x 4 w/ RAID 0, RAID 1 & JBOD
- 5.1 channel Audio, AC97 v2.3 interface (Realtek)
- 10 / 100 Mbps LAN (Realtek)
- 8 USB 2.0 ports

K8S755A-6ELRS
- AMD Athlon™ 64 / Sempron™ processors, Socket 754
- 1600 MT/s HyperTransport™
- DDR400 / DDR333 / DDR 266 DRAM, Max 3Gb
- AGP 8X slot (1.5v only)
- IEEE 1394
- Serial ATA x 4 w/ RAID 0, RAID 1 & JBOD
- 5.1 channel Audio, AC97 v2.3 interface (Realtek)
- 10 / 100 Mbps LAN (Realtek)
- 8 USB 2.0 ports

K8S755A-6EKRS
- AMD Athlon™ 64 / Sempron™ processors, Socket 754
- 1600 MT/s HyperTransport™
- DDR400 / DDR333 / DDR 266 DRAM, Max 3Gb
- AGP 8X slot (1.5v only)
- IEEE 1394
- Serial ATA x 4 w/ RAID 0, RAID 1 & JBOD
- 5.1 channel Audio, AC97 v2.3 interface (Realtek)
- GbE LAN (Realtek)
- 8 USB 2.0 ports

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/EN-GB/...D=en-tt0000038

or does it not matter which of these audio drivers i download?
Reply With Quote

  #21  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:29 AM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
sorry for so many posts

i've solved the ! in device manager by using one of those links above, so i now have no problems atal in device manager, my motherbaord sound is disabled and my creative soundcard is enabled, it's digitally signed and there are no conflicts but still my computer says there are no audio devices present. been looking at the troubleshooter, there could be a problem with my plug and play in the bios, i can remeber getting warning message about plug and play errors, so maybe thats the problem, how would i update that?
Reply With Quote

  #22  
Old 10-12-2006, 07:46 PM
bookworm's Avatar
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 15,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by arinor
i've solved the ! in device manager by using one of those links above, so i now have no problems atal in device manager, my motherbaord sound is disabled and my creative soundcard is enabled, it's digitally signed and there are no conflicts but still my computer says there are no audio devices present. been looking at the troubleshooter, there could be a problem with my plug and play in the bios, i can remeber getting warning message about plug and play errors, so maybe thats the problem, how would i update that?

All these boards are the same, it's likley you need to update the Chipset driver, but to be sure the boards have SiS chipsets, go here to SiS http://www.sis.com/support/support_prodid.htm it will check your board and tell you what chipsets are installed, and which you can update, the one that deals with PCI is the IDE chipset, post back if your not sure. You will be asked to install an Active X to run ( it's safe Iv'e used it myself )

Hope this helps
__________________
Hope this helps

Barbara MCP

Friends are
Gods apology
for relations.


It's not what you know, it's who you know ( especially the members of the Software Tips&Tricks Forum )
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 10-13-2006, 08:09 AM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
next idea?

"All these boards are the same, it's likley you need to update the Chipset driver, but to be sure the boards have SiS chipsets, go here to SiS http://www.sis.com/support/support_prodid.htm it will check your board and tell you what chipsets are installed, and which you can update, the one that deals with PCI is the IDE chipset, post back if your not sure. You will be asked to install an Active X to run ( it's safe Iv'e used it myself ) "

thanks for the quick response barbara, i've just tried this outm and downloaded the folder ide204a, and ran the program inside to update my sis drivers. firstly i uninstalled in my audio devices and drivers etc etc from device manager and add/remoce programs, then uninstalled the sis driver. reinstalled the sis driver then reinstalled the soundacard. still have the same problem that it's saying theres no audio devices on my comp even tho its ok in device manager. did i do somthing wrong?
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:30 PM
bookworm's Avatar
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 15,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by arinor
"All these boards are the same, it's likley you need to update the Chipset driver, but to be sure the boards have SiS chipsets, go here to SiS http://www.sis.com/support/support_prodid.htm it will check your board and tell you what chipsets are installed, and which you can update, the one that deals with PCI is the IDE chipset, post back if your not sure. You will be asked to install an Active X to run ( it's safe Iv'e used it myself ) "

thanks for the quick response barbara, i've just tried this outm and downloaded the folder ide204a, and ran the program inside to update my sis drivers. firstly i uninstalled in my audio devices and drivers etc etc from device manager and add/remoce programs, then uninstalled the sis driver. reinstalled the sis driver then reinstalled the soundacard. still have the same problem that it's saying theres no audio devices on my comp even tho its ok in device manager. did i do somthing wrong?

Did you install the the Creative SB audio, and did you disable onboard sound in the BIOS.

Cheers
__________________
Hope this helps

Barbara MCP

Friends are
Gods apology
for relations.


It's not what you know, it's who you know ( especially the members of the Software Tips&Tricks Forum )
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:37 AM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
yes i think so

Quote:
Originally Posted by bookworm
Did you install the the Creative SB audio, and did you disable onboard sound in the BIOS.

Cheers

i'm pretty sure the motherboard sound stuff is disabled in the bios, it reads ac97 audio disabled or somthing like that. the Creative sb audio is also installed, however when i try to run creative speaker setting program a warning message appears saying "the audio device supported by this application is not detected. this application will now exit". and still in device manager the card is installed correctly and on the face of it everything seems to be ok. i'm very confused as to whats wrong
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 10-15-2006, 02:25 PM
bookworm's Avatar
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 15,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by arinor
i'm pretty sure the motherboard sound stuff is disabled in the bios, it reads ac97 audio disabled or somthing like that. the Creative sb audio is also installed, however when i try to run creative speaker setting program a warning message appears saying "the audio device supported by this application is not detected. this application will now exit". and still in device manager the card is installed correctly and on the face of it everything seems to be ok. i'm very confused as to whats wrong

Have a look at this
Check Control Panel/ Sound & Audio Devices/ Properties/ Audio tab/ Sound Playback click on down arrow and check that the correct audio is selected.Typically the problem will be thay something like "modem line 0 playback" might have been substituted for the proper audio device.

Hope this helps
__________________
Hope this helps

Barbara MCP

Friends are
Gods apology
for relations.


It's not what you know, it's who you know ( especially the members of the Software Tips&Tricks Forum )
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 10-16-2006, 11:18 AM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
all grayed out

Quote:
Originally Posted by bookworm
Have a look at this
Check Control Panel/ Sound & Audio Devices/ Properties/ Audio tab/ Sound Playback click on down arrow and check that the correct audio is selected.Typically the problem will be thay something like "modem line 0 playback" might have been substituted for the proper audio device.

Hope this helps

the whole of the audio and devices window thing all the options are grayed out including the audio tab bit where you said to select a different audio device, the problem is its not sayin there are any
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 10-16-2006, 11:24 AM
bookworm's Avatar
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 15,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by arinor
the whole of the audio and devices window thing all the options are grayed out including the audio tab bit where you said to select a different audio device, the problem is its not sayin there are any


Try this
I had the same issue; no sound; but drivers were there; everything looked fine. This stumped me for about a week. Okay; so this is how I fixed it. Go to "Start"-\"control Panal"-\"Administrative Tools"-\"Component Services". This will pull up a seperate window, on the left click "services (local)" from the tree. Go down to the "windows audio" service. If the service is on "disabled" or "manual"; right click and select "properties" under "startup type" change to "automatic"- click apply. click "start". Reboot!!

Hope this helps
__________________
Hope this helps

Barbara MCP

Friends are
Gods apology
for relations.


It's not what you know, it's who you know ( especially the members of the Software Tips&Tricks Forum )
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 10-16-2006, 12:16 PM
arinor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 9
was allready on automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by bookworm
Try this
I had the same issue; no sound; but drivers were there; everything looked fine. This stumped me for about a week. Okay; so this is how I fixed it. Go to "Start"-\"control Panal"-\"Administrative Tools"-\"Component Services". This will pull up a seperate window, on the left click "services (local)" from the tree. Go down to the "windows audio" service. If the service is on "disabled" or "manual"; right click and select "properties" under "startup type" change to "automatic"- click apply. click "start". Reboot!!

Hope this helps

just checked and the windows audio bit was allready set to automatic and was started. could my computer be just broken? you've thought of an awful lot of suggestions you must be running out of ideas soon ^^
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 10-16-2006, 04:56 PM
bookworm's Avatar
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 15,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by arinor
i've solved the ! in device manager by using one of those links above, so i now have no problems atal in device manager, my motherbaord sound is disabled and my creative soundcard is enabled, it's digitally signed and there are no conflicts but still my computer says there are no audio devices present. been looking at the troubleshooter, there could be a problem with my plug and play in the bios, i can remeber getting warning message about plug and play errors, so maybe thats the problem, how would i update that?

Not too sure on the Plug and Play but I will post a thread, one of the comp wizads on here should help

Cheers
__________________
Hope this helps

Barbara MCP

Friends are
Gods apology
for relations.


It's not what you know, it's who you know ( especially the members of the Software Tips&Tricks Forum )
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NO Sound problem BUBBL3T3a Windows XP 2315 05-09-2012 07:34 PM
Windows XP Pro and Home restarting due to device driver conflicts... falklian Windows XP 4 09-09-2010 12:36 AM
Sound card problems.... confutatis Hardware Problems 13 01-07-2009 04:24 PM
*another* sound problem (yes, terrible, i know) Unislash Hardware Problems 2 02-17-2006 08:24 AM
Sound driver keeps uninstalling?? kasdaye Hardware Problems 3 08-29-2005 01:27 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.