SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > General Forums > Feedback
User Name
Password


Pop-ups -- for heaven's sake

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 3.75 average. Display Modes

  #1  
Old 11-22-2008, 09:52 AM
pip22's Avatar
pip22 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,355
Pop-ups -- for heaven's sake

Everytime I login to STT there are two pop-ups. Getting very pi**ed off with this cos they circumvent Firefox's pop-up blocker. Don't give me all that cr*p about all forums doing it to raise cash, they don't (and I should know, I'm a member of a dozen or so).

Either the pop-ups go or I go. I'll see if they're still there in a week. If they are, that's it, I'm outta here!
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 11-23-2008, 04:58 AM
Jazz's Avatar
Jazz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,662
Hi pip22

I don't know whether you have tried, however, try using the MVPS HOSTS file or HostsXpert v4.3.

I can honestly say, hand on heart, that I never receive pop-ups or advertisements on this site.

Let us know if either of the aforementioned methods work.

Good luck.
__________________
An ounce of prevention is worth more than a pound of cure

Proud Member of the Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals (ASAP) 2006
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-24-2008, 10:05 AM
Ant's Avatar
Ant Offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 1,461
Strangely enough, I have the exact same pop-up settings on IE and Google Toolbar at work and home, and get them at work, but not at home.
__________________
.
If something helped, or didn't, take a minute to let us know.
.
Thanks aren't always necessary, but are always appreciated.
.
There are only two men I trust with my computer. One's me. The other isn't you.
.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-25-2008, 05:15 AM
Jazz's Avatar
Jazz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant
Strangely enough, I have the exact same pop-up settings on IE and Google Toolbar at work and home, and get them at work, but not at home.

Could be a setting in Group Policy at work, Ant. Who knows.
__________________
An ounce of prevention is worth more than a pound of cure

Proud Member of the Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals (ASAP) 2006
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-26-2008, 05:39 AM
The Tool's Avatar
The Tool Offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 928
You should not be getting pop-up every time you visit, unless something is deleting the cookie set by advertisement network.

In Firefox, Tools > Options > Privacy under Private Data, untick "Always clear my private data when I close Firefox".
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-26-2008, 10:59 AM
Ant's Avatar
Ant Offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 1,461
@ Pip, there's a lot more worthy of being bothered by. This is one small niggle that should be consigned to the "Only bothersome if I allow it to be" section, and ignored accordingly.

If i get the chance to log in at work, I do the initial two clicks, wait for the ads to open, close the ad windows straight away and continue as usual.

It's just one of those things. Just takes a bit longer to log in.

Like global warming and riding to work in Bangkok in the morning. Yes, it's bad, but I ain't gonna let it bother me.
__________________
.
If something helped, or didn't, take a minute to let us know.
.
Thanks aren't always necessary, but are always appreciated.
.
There are only two men I trust with my computer. One's me. The other isn't you.
.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-04-2010, 01:53 AM
Dude111 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 55
I dont get any either here (Thankfully)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazz
I don't know whether you have tried, however, try using the MVPS HOSTS file or HostsXpert v4.3.
I have heard that putting ALOT OF STUFF IN YOUR HOST FILE CAN CAUSE SLOWDOWNS,is this true?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-29-2010, 03:33 AM
old un's Avatar
old un Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
The pop up that DOES concern me on here is the red waring that I frequently get from WOT. To date I override it as I have excellent security. Any comments anyone?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-29-2010, 05:00 AM
old un's Avatar
old un Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
I have just had a look, and this site does not appear to allow pictures to be uploaded, or I would show a picture.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-29-2010, 03:06 PM
The Tool's Avatar
The Tool Offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 928
The pop-up advertisement contain just a small flash animation or a image, that's all.

I think its just letting you know a pop-up window has opened. Often these security software's and browsing tools exaggerate things.

You can upload to a free photo sharing website like flickr.com . Then share the link here.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-01-2010, 03:59 AM
old un's Avatar
old un Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
I don't usually use those sites. The warning is the standard one used by WOT.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.