SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Other Operating Systems
User Name
Password

Going for Linux?

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes

Old 04-03-2010, 04:37 PM
supersocks Offline

Going for Linux?

Hi!
I'm thinking about installing Linux on an old computer I got after my dad. I was just wondering if there is anything I need to think about. Can I use any hardware for Linux? Can I just install and assume it will work?

I'm going for Ubuntu. Good choice or bad?

I hope someone can help me. I'm kinda new to this..
Thanks!

Old 04-14-2010, 11:22 PM
jombeewoof Offline

You can install linux on just about anything you can think of. http://www.strangehorizons.com/2004/...5/badger.shtml
Depending on the hardware Ubuntu should be fine, if the hardware is really old, you might want to try the slightly lighter weight xubuntu. Same basic operating system, just uses xfce instead of gnome.

Ubuntu probably does have the best user support, and is a great beginner distro. Fedora is another, but might take a bit newer hardware. Either way, the only way to figure out what is right for you is to jump in the pool.

Old 04-19-2010, 09:12 PM
Embolism Offline

fedora is cool!!

Old 04-29-2010, 09:25 PM
Embolism Offline

As for support the latest distro 12 might not be the best for you to start on as although it loaded from live cd perfectly i had to work around the intial updates with yum as opposed the default package management.
No issues with fedora 11`s package manager and once you download gpg key from rpm fusion its all accesible and sweet.
If you are not a complete noob fedora 12 is just as easy and the initial updates are easy in yum.
Workaround for updates:1 download and intall gpg key from rpm fusion site.
2:go to terminal type su and then password upon prompt.
3:type yum install update