SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Windows 7
User Name
Password


Connecting PC to internet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 3.50 average. Display Modes

  #1  
Old 03-20-2014, 10:43 PM
siuhrebel's Avatar
siuhrebel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York City !!
Posts: 108
Connecting pc to internet

Three story house, wireless router on second floor to use I pad on third
floor.
I have my pc on first floor with TV and cable box.
How can I hard wire my pc with cat 5 cable ?
__________________
I live in my own little world.
But it's OK.
They know me here.
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 03-20-2014, 10:57 PM
siuhrebel's Avatar
siuhrebel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York City !!
Posts: 108
Connecting PC to internet

Three story house, wireless router on second floor to use I pad on third
floor.
I have my pc on first floor with TV and cable box.
How can I hard wire my pc with cat 5 cable ?
__________________
I live in my own little world.
But it's OK.
They know me here.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-21-2014, 07:57 AM
RAZman25's Avatar
RAZman25 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 75
Either you buy a cable with a sufficient length to reach to the wireless router or you go with powerline adapters
__________________
--RAZman25
"The truth is out there"
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-21-2014, 09:38 AM
Digerati Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 218
Quote:
How can I hard wire my pc with cat 5 cable ?
You need to wire your house first. That is, run a CAT5e (or CAT6 - don't use CAT5) cable from a Ethernet port on your router on the 2nd floor down to the first floor. Then what I would do is connect the 1st floor Ethernet cable to an separate Ethernet switch like this. Then connect your computer to the switch. The switch will allow you to connect multiple devices (printer, network storage, other computers) via Ethernet to your network. And being a 1Gbit/sec switch, it will not hamper performance.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows & Devices for IT 2007 - 2017
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Explorer 8 not connecting and it blocks yahoo messenger also bhupinderz Internet 1 10-18-2010 07:27 AM
Problem Connecting to Internet...Please Help marclond Internet 5 03-14-2008 02:51 PM
Cannot delete .dll file suspected spyware....Help! kshre Windows XP 9 09-28-2007 05:05 AM
Reposted from internet: HELP! Internet Explorer not working. wingstorm Windows XP 3 09-07-2006 08:07 PM
Problems with connecting to internet! DaFuZzMaStA Windows XP 8 07-05-2004 04:38 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.