SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Windows 95/98/ME
User Name
Password


Internet explorer Script Error

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 14 votes, 3.43 average. Display Modes

  #16  
Old 05-31-2004, 05:51 PM
Play_The_0dds's Avatar
Play_The_0dds Offline
Risk it all
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,222
with all the fixes that is listed above, if none work it comes down to a few options left if you still have problems.
on-line virus scan.
http://www.pandasoftware.com/actives..._principal.htm
spyware scan.
http://download.com.com/3000-2094-10...ml?legacy=cnet
make sure to updatethe program before you run it.
reinstall internet explorer...check any cd disk you might have, ie is on alot of disk that comes with software and hardware. if not download a copy.
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/default.asp
may want to try a different web browser.
http://www.mozilla.org/
and if you are on 95,98, or me and have a windows installation disk you could try reinstalling it over it's self as a repair. as long as you dont format you wont lose your files, drivers, or programs.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-23-2004, 08:09 PM
giulzgiulz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Philly
Posts: 1
Another IE script error

When I try to turn my scheduled scan on in McAfee I get an IE Script error that says "An error has occurred in the script on this page. The data area passed to a system call is too small." It then gives a URL that points to a McAfee DLL file. If I hit yes or no it doesn't go away. I have already gone to the internet options and checked "disable script debugging" and unchecked "display notification about every script error".
Any suggestions? Appreciate it.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 06-29-2004, 06:43 PM
freeness Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
Same Exact Problem

I have the exact same issue. I have win2k and IE6 and it seems to have started after a recent crital update. I've triple checked the advanced setting and disables Nortons, but I get the same script error notifications on half of the sites I visit.

Please help, this is very annoying.

Andy
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-01-2005, 01:07 PM
ivan's Avatar
ivan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
ie6 script error

found this on the net: Hey I don't know if you guys already know the answer to this or not, but incase you don't this WILL fix it.

1. to your RUN window from the start menu, type in "regsvr32 msscript.ocx" and hit enter
2. do the same with dispex.dll, and vbscript.dll
3. open windows explorer, select folder options in the tools drop down.
4. select the file types tab
5. scroll down to the extension type JS, highlight it and hit the advanced button
6. highlight the Open command and hit the edit button. If you have more than one "Open" command showing (which was part of my problem)delete one of them.
7. In the field "application used to perform action" paste in this - C:\WINNT\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %* your done.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-01-2005, 01:41 PM
s7p9a2m4 Offline
dismembered
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 912
That was very thoughtful posting the fix in this old thread. I'm sure it will be very helpful. We see so many unresolved problems and little feedback as to what worked.
Reply With Quote

  #21  
Old 01-22-2005, 11:42 AM
goads's Avatar
goads Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Script errors?

You could try getting Mozilla's Firefox: (mainly because java works so nicely with this browser and java scripts are on many,many sites these days)

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/
__________________
"I'm not a young demographic anymore!", cried Win98
Reply With Quote

  #22  
Old 01-22-2005, 12:30 PM
prs4u's Avatar
prs4u Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 99
goads,

I use Opera, but don't go there there unless you want loads of other problems, I like it though - it works the way I want it, so am wary about any upgrades.

Any upgrades to a system can cause problems, I have a friend with with a PC that is over 5yrs old on Win98 and never has problems because he does not update anything - perhaps we're all to update conscious in thinking we might miss out on something!
__________________
If we didn't have Microsoft how many people would get bored - Paul
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 01-27-2005, 01:53 PM
rpiester Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by goads
You could try getting Mozilla's Firefox: (mainly because java works so nicely with this browser and java scripts are on many,many sites these days)

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/


I switched to Firefox but still get the message even when I have nothing running. If I just boot up the computer and let it sit for a few minutes, eventually one of those pops up. I have the latest versions of Spybot and Adaware, so I'm not sure where else to look. Yes, I have checked the debugging script settings in IE as well.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:44 PM
goads's Avatar
goads Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Smile Make IE cleaner

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpiester
I switched to Firefox but still get the message even when I have nothing running. If I just boot up the computer and let it sit for a few minutes, eventually one of those pops up. I have the latest versions of Spybot and Adaware, so I'm not sure where else to look. Yes, I have checked the debugging script settings in IE as well.

Try using IEradicator to clean IE then download IE6.0:

http://www.litepc.com/download.html
__________________
"I'm not a young demographic anymore!", cried Win98
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:34 AM
prott1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy Internet Script Error (Need help)

I have a similar problem I need help with. I'm running XP w/serv pack 2. When I boot up is when I receive this error.

Internet Explorer Script Error
Line: 20
Character: 1
Error: object doens't supprot property or method
Code: 0
URL: google.com/webhp?sourceid=ggviewer

please help, i tried the tools, adv. tab, and following what was supposed to be checked off. It was already correct. Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESALADUANE
beeboy has already mentioned a fix that I usually recommend, so I'll mention another one that I found works. The new Google toolbar for IE has been mentioned here before, usually because it has a pop-up stopper. But, the Google Toolbar installer also disables that Scripting Error dialog box (A Runtime Error has occurred. Do you wish to Debug?).

http://toolbar.google.com/
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:38 AM
prott1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Same problem

Andy, I think you hit on something. Now that I come to think about it. My script error on boot up started after an update as well. Someone help us... Thanks, Paul

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeness
I have the exact same issue. I have win2k and IE6 and it seems to have started after a recent crital update. I've triple checked the advanced setting and disables Nortons, but I get the same script error notifications on half of the sites I visit.

Please help, this is very annoying.

Andy
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:03 PM
ShadowHanyou Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Here's my script error

line:1
char:1
error: Object expected
code:0
URL:file://C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\browser\Content\sb_error.htm

by the way, I'm not using internet explorer when this happens, I'm using sbc dsl. Thanks for whatever help you can give me.

Last edited by ShadowHanyou : 08-09-2005 at 04:13 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 09-07-2005, 11:56 PM
mrconsolino Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
same problem

I have the exact same problem, I am not even running IE and it gives me this script error. It's getting pretty annoying. I am running SBC DSL.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 04-18-2011, 03:19 PM
nromil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Smile script error

Hi guys i Did read about script errors and trying to fing\d a right solution myself however an alternate woould be to go to security Tab in internet explorer tools properties :-> customize security settings and then disable scripting except for java... this would fix it....
or if win 7 or vista run scf/scan now on command prompt.
these errors apepar due to malicious entries in your i.e even i.e repair or reinstall does not work..
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Explorer 6 error Max Korn Windows 95/98/ME 8 03-18-2006 09:28 PM
Internet Explorer Script Error TitanForum Windows XP 4 01-27-2006 05:00 PM
Internet Explorer Script Error rkghh Windows XP 2 03-07-2004 10:07 AM
internet explorere script error nperko Windows 95/98/ME 1 02-11-2004 06:01 PM
Internet Explorer script error nscrf17 Windows XP 4 11-15-2003 06:16 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.