SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Windows NT/2000/2003
User Name
Password


Remote desktop connection problem

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 26 votes, 3.04 average. Display Modes

  #1  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:44 AM
ellatomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Remote desktop connection problem

Hi all,

I am new in this forum.. I really need your help.

When I am connecting via a remote desktop connection from home (Win 2000 pro) to a server in the office (Win XP), I get a black screen (Only the server IP address is shown on the top of the screen).

I have checked with the office, and the connection arrives to the server, but nothing appears on the client PC.

Can someone help me with this issue...

Thanks a lot.

Ellatomer.
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 07-26-2004, 10:00 AM
snowmonkey's Avatar
snowmonkey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,386
Re: Remote desktop connection problem

Quote:
Originally posted by ellatomer

<SNIP>

When I am connecting via a remote desktop connection from home (Win 2000 pro) to a server in the office (Win XP), I get a black screen (Only the server IP address is shown on the top of the screen)

<SNIP>

Ellatomer.


ellatomer, Welcome to this Forum.
Could you please indicate, what do you use for Remote Desktop Connection on the client side (I mean do you have a third party software or you use built in software) ?

When you say, Server (Win XP), do you mean Windows 2003 server or Windows XP Desktop acting as your server (destination machine) ?

cheers
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-26-2004, 11:00 AM
ellatomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Hi Snowmonkey,

I use the Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection I am installing from Microsoft's site (On the client side).

I am connecting to a PC that runs with Win XP acting as my server (Not Win2003)

Thanks

Ellatomer
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-26-2004, 11:20 AM
snowmonkey's Avatar
snowmonkey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,386
I have spent the last hour to reproduce your problem on my network but no luck ,,, here are couple of things O want you to try.

Find these two files on your Windows XP system: mstsc.exe and mstscax.dll , copy them to your Windows 2000 machine and then try to remote connect to Windows XP machine via a double click on "mstsc.exe" ,,, let us know the results.

If you feel like a adventurer and you wouldn't mind trying something new, then I would suggest trying a software called Remote Administrator or "Radmin" , I am using this software on daily bases and I love it, it works great and there is nothing to be configured, all you need is the IP address of the remote system...

Here is the link:
http://www.radmin.com

cheers
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-26-2004, 11:32 AM
ellatomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks Snowmonkey for the time your are spending on this issue.
I'll try your advises as soon as I am home.

Ellatomer
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-27-2004, 01:47 AM
ellatomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Hi Snowmonkey,

I've tried the both solutions, and I still get the same results. I've also tried to remote connect via VPN without success.

It seems that the problem is not the software I am using to remote connect, but something in my PC.... I've got no idea what it can be.

Recently, I've changed the mother board (AMD). Or may be a parameter is not well settled. I tried to remote connect to another computer from the same PC and it does not work. But I can connect to my office's PC from another computer.

Have you got any other advises?

Thanks

Ellatomer
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-27-2004, 02:06 AM
ellatomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
I meant VNC (and not VPN).

Ellatomer
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-19-2004, 08:39 AM
ejenner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5
- Have you got any firewall software (or hardware) setup at home?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-10-2005, 06:43 PM
monkeyparade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
To resolve this issue turn off "bitmap caching" on the Experience tab of the Remote Desktop Connnection properties. This option is enabled by default for all connection speeds and will cause this problem from certain remote clients. I do not know what causes this problem, but this is the way to solve it.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-13-2005, 04:28 AM
Wim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Remote desktop connection problem

if the sollution provided by monkyparade does not work:

try to replicate the same setup @ work: win2k connecting to WinXP desktop.

if (it still doesn't work) {
problem is software related, try winXP to WinXP}
else {
your problem may be packet or port filtering of your home-office connection at some point in your connection (VNC does not work either so for me this would be your problem)
}


regards,
Wim.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:31 PM
akluser Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Hi
I had exactly the same problem with the remote desktop connection and the black screen. Thanks for the tip about the "bitmap caching", this solved my problem.

Regards
Andy
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-27-2006, 11:16 PM
HaroldWe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Bitmap caching has cause me the same exact problem. Hopefully other people will see this and solve the problem more easily than I did!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-11-2008, 02:44 AM
herculas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Angry Black screen with Remote Desktop

Please help.
I use windows RDP to connect to a 2003 server. I can connect and enter the username and password but then the screen goes black.
Bitmap cashing is disable.

I can connect to other clients, no problem only the one is giving me hell.

H
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-14-2008, 07:13 PM
Disk_Contented's Avatar
Disk_Contented Offline
Temporary Ban
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In a plasma conduit
Posts: 1,622
The professional version of XP, or win 2K3 is required to initiate a remote desktop session.
Win 2K will be client only.

VNC will work as long as server/client soft is installed on both machines, and firewall is configured to allow operation
__________________
Where there's a will, There's a way.
Pay developers, not Rapidshare!
I know nowt, but at least I'm trying.
Quality, not quantity.
Prevention is better than cure.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 07-18-2009, 02:05 AM
amadeus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Remote Desktop black screen (Waiting waiting waiting for it to be blue but alas)

Hi

I have a winXP Pro at work which I use to remote desktop to from home. Everything was ok and I used to RDP just fine. A few days ago the local administrator and I got into conflict with each other when logging on meaning I was trying to log remotely and he was trying to log locally and the desktop would switch between him and me a couple of times. Since then whenever I try to RDP I get the same black screen that you guys are talking about. I had the local admin reboot the computer several times but with no luck. I have also checked the router/firewall at the location although I am 120 percent sure the problem is not the firewall. Everything seems fine. It seems that the computer got confused the day we were flipping and it still is confured

Any tips from you guys would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Desktop Connection Error Hari Windows NT/2000/2003 8 08-01-2008 05:07 PM
Remote Desktop Connection Problem bmattb Windows XP 3 01-31-2005 04:28 AM
Enabling remote desktop connection? Kon Windows XP 1 01-07-2005 07:48 PM
Runnning Remote Desktop Connection in XP everfresh59 Windows XP 0 04-16-2004 01:13 PM
Remote Desktop Connection erik1213 Windows XP 5 09-01-2003 10:03 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.