SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Windows XP
User Name
Password


Restore Disk?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes

  #16  
Old 04-20-2005, 02:10 PM
MJaeson's Avatar
MJaeson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 162
Are you sure you havent created one?

Are you sure you havent created one?
It's ILLEGAL to make further copies.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:26 PM
timsquash5 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
i am sure. i couldn't have, i didn't have any disks then.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:09 PM
MJaeson's Avatar
MJaeson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 162
Okay

You can go to the emachines chat support (http://www.emachines.com/support/tech_support.html)
and they'll ask you to do the same thing here:

Use the following steps to reset Recovery Media Creator.


1 Download the ResetRmc.exe file to the desktop. This is available from the Gateway Web site at:
ftp://ftp.gateway.com/pub/hardware_s...c/ResetRmc.exe

2 On the desktop, double-click the ResetRmc.exe file.

3 In the WinZip - Password for file: ResetRmc.exe dialog box, type the following password, and then click OK: G8way!

4 The needed files extract to the C:\Cabs\ResetRmc folder.

5 From the Start menu, click Run.

6 In the Run dialog box, type: C:\Cabs\ResetRmc\ResetRmc.exe. Click OK.
Note: This is a very small file that executes extremely fast. You may not notice anything happen after running the file.


IMPORTANT: If the customer has restored the computer at any point using the burned Recovery Media, this patch will not work. In that instance, the only backup media available for the customer is the D: recovery partition. Attempting to run the ResetRmc.exe patch in this instance causes the following error message to appear:

Note: Gateway and eMachines merged so it would be okay....
After that you can do my previous instructions.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:08 AM
MacG Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 97
Is there a recovery DVD in your computer's packaging? Maybe the CD/DVD has already been made but the system doesn't know about it.

Is that possible? Some other OEM machines come with Recovery CDs or Master CDs and some have a Recovery partition and you have to make them yourself. e.g. Packard-Bell.

Quote:
IMPORTANT: If the customer has restored the computer at any point using the burned Recovery Media, this patch will not work.

In that instance, the only backup media available for the customer is the D: recovery partition. Attempting to run the

ResetRmc.exe patch in this instance causes the following error message to appear:

Can you say what that error message is please. I would just like to keep a record of it.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:39 PM
timsquash5 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
i get this message with that password:

Quote:
Incorrect Password Specified
Reply With Quote

  #21  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:20 AM
MacG Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 97
Thanks. What is the precise model number and serial number of your eMachines computer?

Taking a look at the Gateway site I see that there are user manuals available for a range of models in .pdf format.
Reply With Quote

  #22  
Old 04-22-2005, 09:47 AM
timsquash5 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
where do i find that?
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:48 AM
MacG Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 97
Usually on the back of the machine.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:33 AM
MJaeson's Avatar
MJaeson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 162
Sorry

The password was supposed to be

G8way

No "!" got carried away
Goodluck
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:27 PM
timsquash5 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Thanks so much, got it working at last but you have to type G8way! with the '!', before i took it off.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:53 PM
Rauldinho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Hi MJaeson, i just bought a emachine laptop model m5414, i'm from latinamerica, and i have the same problem as everybody, that i can't make my recovery cd's because the recovery media creator says that they have already been made. And i need to format my machine, but i can do it until i have the drives of my laptop i tried to reset the recovery with the program you gave but it didn't work, the program still gives me the same mistake. My laptop is new if that helps.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 05-31-2005, 11:24 AM
MJaeson's Avatar
MJaeson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 162
Sorry was away

Been away sorry post back if still need help
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 11-06-2005, 11:43 AM
gmac31456 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Reset Limit for Gateway PC

MJaeson: I have been assisting my sister-in-law with her new gateway PC. The Recovery Media Creator program failed when the 3rd CD was too large and the program aborted. Gateway sent instructions on how to reset the restore program - exactly as you described above... worked great... BUT!

Program failed again at same point trying to create a 3rd CD with tooo much data ("over 751MB")... At this point Gateway informed me that you only get 2 chances. Perhaps if I had been told this when advised of the reset I would have tried a DVD rather than CDs. I could have gone and bought some...

Now I am being told to send the machine back for re-installation... I suspect this means complete overwrite of the hard drive. NOT ACCEPTABLE! We have too much time invested...

Is there anyway to make a back up of the operating system or should I just forget Gateway and buy a copy of XP if/when I ever have a serious system failure?

Thanks for your help,
G Mac
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 03-29-2007, 10:12 PM
chrislavezzo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
E-machine Restore Disc

I bought a w3507 in jan. Now I am having problems with it but never got a restore disc. I didn't have any blanks at the time I got the computer. I called tech and they want me to buy one. Is there a way to go back and make them?
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 04-02-2007, 05:14 PM
richard7562 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
I have a emachines that needs Recovery Creator cd it will not make one can you help me.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to clone Windows XP installation on a SCSI disk ? halcyon Windows XP 2 03-02-2011 08:10 AM
System Restore Tab Missing in XP-Pro! snowy_13_999 Windows XP 12 08-30-2009 12:14 PM
Major Problem MajorProb Windows XP 6 04-18-2005 07:19 PM
System restore Denise Windows XP 3 11-02-2004 05:56 PM
How to create a Win2000 restore disk? cX_GX Windows NT/2000/2003 3 12-18-2003 12:20 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.