SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Windows XP
User Name
Password

Missing drivers. Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 249 votes, 3.76 average. Display Modes

Old 01-28-2006, 01:02 AM
seney Offline

Missing drivers. Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

Hello =)

I recently formatted my friend's computer and installed all the necessary drivers and such. It's just basic stuff as I'm no comptuer expert. However, when I got to the Device Manager to see if anything was missing, I saw a yellow exclamation mark next to "Video Controller (VGA Compatible)". She doesn't have the CD for the drivers but the computer works just fine.
The computer is a Packard Bell iMedia M8171ADRW running Windows XP Professional (build 2600).
I used the Everest program to obtain some of the PC specs and this is what I got. (only posted what I thought was relevant).

Computer:
Computer Type ACPI Uniprocessor PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4, 1700 MHz (17 x 100)
Motherboard Name Gigabyte GA-8SIML v2 (3 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 CNR, 2 DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset SiS 650
BIOS Type AMI (03/14/02)

Display:
Video Adapter SiS 315 Integrated
3D Accelerator SiS 315 Integrated

I then went to the SiS website and downloaded the driver. http://www.sis.com/download/Windows XP > GPU Graphics Drivers > SiS315 series GPU.
I didn't get the chance to go over to friend's house and I just want to make sure I'm doing the right thing. Don't want to wreck the computer. I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.
Thanks a lot for the help.

Old 01-28-2006, 09:41 PM
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen

Quote:
Originally Posted by seney
Hello =)