SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Windows XP
User Name
Password


This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 4.14 average. Display Modes

  #1  
Old 03-30-2003, 02:16 PM
brianabbott Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 11
Unhappy This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer

'This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact your system administrator'

I get this message when I click on 'Internet Options' on 'Internet Explorer'. I have 'Windows XP Home Edition'. I am still able to access this via the control panel.

I've been trying for days to sort this problem out. Can anybody put me out of my misery?
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 03-30-2003, 04:58 PM
ESALADUANE's Avatar
ESALADUANE Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,993
It looks as if the person who has administrator rights on the computer your using is trying to stop people from changing the options in IE.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-03-2003, 09:17 PM
lonnypaul's Avatar
lonnypaul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: MiA
Posts: 2
Question She's not crazy

I have the same problem.

I am the administrator.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-03-2003, 09:42 PM
Daeymon's Avatar
Daeymon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 279
It has to do with a service that has been disabled or changed or corrupted. Check any services you have recently disabled.

Check RPC services. Or some others...mine stopped after fooling with services.
__________________
You arent paying me so dont complain if Im not helpful.

Jeff

Aim-Jeffzsx
Yahoo Messenger-Jeffzsx
If you need help message me Ill see what I can do.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-09-2003, 02:38 PM
kernelmojo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
I renamed (which, in effect, deleted) key [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Inte rnet Explorer] and the problem "went away".

- km

Last edited by kernelmojo : 06-10-2003 at 08:11 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-10-2003, 11:55 PM
homewreka's Avatar
homewreka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Inte rnet Explorer\Restrictions

Change value of "NoBrowserOptions" from 1 to 0.

Peace!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-11-2003, 02:21 AM
lonnypaul's Avatar
lonnypaul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: MiA
Posts: 2
Angry that's gone, but now...

Well, it's back, but now I can't reset the home page. It's greyed out!

Agh!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-12-2003, 01:35 PM
Griblit's Avatar
Griblit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In my little cave.
Posts: 1
Lightbulb Had the same problem: do this

I just did this:

Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Inte
rnet Explorer\Control Panel

Change value of "Homepage" from 1 to 0.

You'll be right back where you need to be.

Now if I only knew how it got set that way in the first place...any guesses?

Cheers!
__________________
Don't look back, you're not going that way!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-12-2003, 02:13 PM
ESALADUANE's Avatar
ESALADUANE Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,993
belgarion posted this yesterday.

"The imunizations page in the latest "Spybot" has a check box that says....

'Lock IE Control panel from opening from within IE (Current User)'

Checking this off fixed this problem for me."
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-12-2003, 11:21 PM
Philster's Avatar
Philster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 59
Tweak UI

You didn't just download/install Tweak UI by any chance did you. After I installed, I made some changes I shouldn't have and had the same exact message.

If you did you need to get back into Tweak (or similar program if thats the case) and set them back to defaults. I looked up the help site for Tweak and they gave some good instructions on how to do a lot of things needed. It is not supported by MS but they had a good help page. May want to give a try.
__________________
My children think I can do anything!! Everybody else knows better!!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-12-2003, 11:54 PM
winmorgan's Avatar
winmorgan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Thank God and belgarion for the SpyBot post...

As the header says, thank God and belgarion for the SpyBot post. That solved the problem.

I am sorry but I cannot refrain, as an ex-Mac-ite who was forced to switch to Windows, from commenting on all the crap one has to go through just to rectify all the crap that the very existence of Windows has brought into being and continues to generate like some foul algae on steroids. Gates should have been liberated at birth. What a *royal* and totally unnecessary pain all this stuff is.

Despite my carping, heartfelt thanks to all who posted to this, and, in my particular case, for the SpyBot fix.

Best,

Win

P.S. Would someone be good enough to tell a Windows imbecile how to locate the file others referenced: "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Int e
rnet Explorer\Restrictions"? I don't know where these things live in Windows and, of course, a search for a file containing the name "HKEY" produces absolutely no results. I don't need the file now as the problem is fixed via the SpyBot pref, but I'd like to know where it lives for future reference. Thanks.

Win

-- "The world is a hellish place and bad writing is destroying the quality of our suffering."

Tom Waits
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-13-2003, 03:11 AM
naresh1121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7
To solve this problem, fist perform this step.

Use sfc and extract the file inetcpl.cpl

If the problem persists, then download and isntall the registry fix form the URL given below:

http://www.dougknox.com/xp/scripts/x...netoptions.vbs
__________________
Naresh Kumar

Happy Thinking

naresh1121@linuxmail.org
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-13-2003, 02:28 PM
winmorgan's Avatar
winmorgan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Not sure what you're referencing

Dear Naresh,

Not sure what you're referring to. I asked how to locate: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Inte rnet Explorer\Restrictions.

This is just because I wanted to know where the file lives (since others talked about modifying it as one possible fix). I don't need to modify, since the SpyBot preference change remedied the situation. I'm just trying to learn more about Windows, which is why I wanted to know where this file is located.

I don't know what you mean when you say "use scf and extract" etc.

Can you explain? Does this somehow lead me to the file I'm curious about? If so, what is "scf" and how do I "extract" something with it?

Thanks,

Win
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-13-2003, 03:48 PM
rickyd2's Avatar
rickyd2 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eastern Kansas
Posts: 4
This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer

SFC references a program called SYSTEM FILE CHECKER

Extract means to take from a source (CD for example) and install at another location. Others may use different definition.
__________________
Peace, love and happiness to all.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-13-2003, 08:17 PM
Grendel's Avatar
Grendel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 451
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Inte
rnet Explorer\Restrictions.

This is not a file in Windows, it is a registry key. And if you are searching Windows you will not find it.

To find it, click Start, then Run and type regedit in the box.

That should open Registry Editor.

Click the + on HKEY_CURRENT_USER, then the + on Software, so on and so forth until you get to Restrictions.


If you plan on deleting/changing any registry keys, BACK THEM UP FIRST.

Right click the key you are chaning and chose Export. Then a window will appear and ask for a file name, and a place to save it.Give it a file name and note where it is saved; just incase you have to put the original key back in.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This Operation has been cancelled. 265346346 Windows XP 7 12-02-2010 03:35 AM
"This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer AsturizGomez Windows XP 2 01-25-2004 01:13 PM
Operation Cancelled Due to Restrictions and other problems jot2003 Windows XP 9 11-12-2003 06:36 PM
Not a normal "This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect..." Norfolk'n'Clue Windows NT/2000/2003 2 10-14-2003 02:14 AM
'This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. DarkangelUK Windows XP 1 05-23-2003 11:44 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.