SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum

Go Back   SoftwareTipsandTricks Forum > Operating Systems > Windows XP
User Name
Password


No Sound.. Says No Audio Device, but drivers are there and enabled "working properly"

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 23 votes, 3.74 average. Display Modes

  #46  
Old 01-16-2007, 03:23 AM
Valiante Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex - UK
Posts: 5
Tried and Tested Solution (2)

There are two possible scenarios;

Scenario One
  1. In Sounds and Audio Devices you are told there is "No Audio Device"
  2. In Device Manager your Audio Device is "Working Properly" and
  3. You DO have "Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator" listed under System Devices

Carry out the following steps;
  • Copy C:\WINDOWS\inf\machine.inf to a temporary location
  • Edit your copy of machine.inf in Notepad
  • Remove line 20 (ExcludeFromSelect=*)
  • Right-click “Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator” and click “Update Driver”
  • Choose “Install from a list or specific location (Advanced)” and click Next
  • Choose “Don’t search. I will choose the driver to install” and click Next
  • Click “Have Disk”
  • Browse to the location of your copy of machine.inf and click OK
  • Select “Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator” and click Next
  • Wait for the software to install then click Finish

Scenario Two
  1. In Sounds and Audio Devices you are told there is "No Audio Device"
  2. In Device Manager your Audio Device is "Working Properly" and
  3. You DON’T have "Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator" listed under System Devices

Carry out the following steps;
  • Copy C:\WINDOWS\inf\machine.inf to a temporary location
  • Edit your copy of machine.inf in Notepad
  • Remove line 20 (ExcludeFromSelect=*)
  • Go to the Control Panel and run “Add Hardware”
  • When the Add Hardware Wizard appears, click Next
  • Wait for it to search for new hardware
  • Choose Yes, I have already connected the hardware and click Next
  • Scroll all the way down and select “Add a new hardware device”, click Next
  • Choose “Install the hardware that I manually select from a list (Advanced)”, click Next
  • Select “Show All Devices” and click Next
  • Click “Have Disk”
  • Browse to the location of your copy of machine.inf and click OK
  • Under Model, select “Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator”, click Next
  • To start installing the drivers, click Next
  • Wait for the software to install then click Finish

Your audio device should now be recognised in Sounds and Audio Devices.

Last edited by Valiante : 01-16-2007 at 03:25 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 01-16-2007, 11:20 PM
kdt1961 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
I have done all of the above (I had scenario one), and my sound card is still not recognized. Is there anyway to disable the legacy audio drivers?
I have a Sound Blaster Audigy SE sound card.
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 01-19-2007, 10:31 AM
Fenotipo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
I am at scenario one too.
I made all the Valiante stuff, but i continue with the same problem.
Same as kdt1961.

My equipment is an ACER aspire 1500, winXP pro SP2, and the sound card is a VIA VT8235 (aka VIA ac'97)
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 01-20-2007, 07:21 AM
Kurt.Michels Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks !

Hi all,

Thanks Valiante, I had the same problem and by executing the scenario 2 from above all seems to work fine !!!

Saved me a lot of trouble going to a complete reinstall.

Best REgards
Kurt.
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:54 PM
Titanicaxx's Avatar
Titanicaxx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bookworm
look at this answer from post lower down
I had the same issue; no sound; but drivers were there; everything looked fine. This stumped me for about a week. Okay; so this is how I fixed it. Go to "Start"-\"control Panal"-\"Administrative Tools"-\"Component Services". This will pull up a seperate window, on the left click "services (local)" from the tree. Go down to the "windows audio" service. If the service is on "disabled" or "manual"; right click and select "properties" under "startup type" change to "automatic"- click apply. click "start". Reboot!!

Hope this helps

I want to thankyou sooooooooooooooooooo much!!
Did a search for ' audio drivers there but no sound'
I read everything on this thread ...then I got to this part and thought hmmm I wonder..
My audio services were on automatic but I pressed something that said Start this service and whallop it was all back again...

THANKYOU YOU ARE A STAR!!!!

Last edited by Titanicaxx : 01-21-2007 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 01-22-2007, 04:48 AM
pctap Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Driver is enabled but not started

I've tried all possible scenarios presented here and other sites for fixing the missing audio problem (No audio device/No active mixer devices available). OK there is one that I was not able to try. That's via the System Restore, since I lost the audio long time ago.

When checking the sound devices and related setting, everything seems to be fine, but the audio controller status, which says "Driver is enabled but has not been started". Still when looking at the Computer Management/Services, it's sayng that Windows Audio is started (it's been set to Automatic mode).

How do I start it if restarting it manually or automaticly by the system can not do it?

Mother board is AMD Athlon and audio controller is VIA AC'97.
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 01-22-2007, 08:46 AM
Titanicaxx's Avatar
Titanicaxx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 3
Mine said it was already started and on automatic.. but i saw something in a box above that said start this so I pressed it anyway and it was back.
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 01-24-2007, 04:09 PM
myaman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Hell Yea.

I've been messing with a Gateway Machine for months! Found this and DAMN. It worked. After I made the changes I had to go into the Sound and Audio devices and set the default devices under the Audio tab.

YES it worked!!

Now, let's break Vista!
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 01-26-2007, 02:29 AM
EDGARDO LEAL Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Ok, I've tried not only once but five times, no I got installed 5 device system enumerators. How can I get rid of them?
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 01-26-2007, 12:31 PM
bealsinto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valiante
Ok, I have found a working solution, but only if you have my specific problem;

In Device Manager your Audio Device is "Working Properly", however in Sounds and Audio Devices you are told there is "No Audio Device".

After installing XP SP2 the "Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator" stops functioning. This can be confirmed by looking in Device Manager - there should be an entry for this listed under System Devices. If not, then you have the same problem as me and the following fix *should* work...

- Copy C:\WINDOWS\inf\machine.inf to a temporary location
- Edit your copy of machine.inf in Notepad
- Remove line 20 (ExcludeFromSelect=*)
- Run the Add New Hardware wizard
- Select Show All Devices and Have Disk
- Browse to the location of your copy of machine.inf
- Under Standard System Devices, select the Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator

Your audio device should now be recognised.

Hope this helps lots of people as it took me a week to find the solution!

Merry Christmas

Valiante

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
I had to register just to say that THIS SOLUTION WORKS if your device installs correctly and says "this device is working properly" then this is the solution you are looking for! WOW!
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 02-03-2007, 05:11 PM
sliph Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
no media device

Thanks all for your posts, theyve given me some things to try, but still no solution.

When i check the Media Control Device and the Plug And Play Device Enumerator, they both say theyre enable and working, but location says Unknown.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'd aprreciate it.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 02-07-2007, 04:28 PM
RyanCutaways Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Smile No Audio Device

Hi, I seem to be having a similar problem to some people above. My PC crashed, so I reinstalled XP with service pack 2, and now it says 'No Audio Device', from what I've read about it seems to be a case of needing to install chipset drivers, does that sound right ? I'm a bit of a novice so I'm not entirely sure how to do it, can anyone help if i include mu PC details below ?

Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)


Motherboard:

CPU Type Intel Celeron, 2600 MHz (26 x 100)
Motherboard Name Epox EP-P4MKI-S (3 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8751A Apollo P4M266A
System Memory 480 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (03/02/04)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR (Microsoft Corporation) (32 MB)
3D Accelerator S3 ProSavageDDR
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (YENB055767)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller


Is that enough info ? Any help would be greatly appreciated !
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 03-18-2007, 06:07 PM
LiquidPegasus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Smile Fixed it!

Here's what I have, and here's what fixed it.

Gateway Media Center GM 5048, Windows XP Media Center, service pack 2.
Intel Pentium 930 processor
I restored the system.

I had no audio devices recognized, "Sound" said no audio device, the whole "Audio" tab was greyed out and I couldn't enable anything. My card was enabled in BIOS, Windows Audio was started and enabled, and my Plug and Play Emulator was up to date. I was just getting ready to throw the computer out the window when I tried Gateway's online live chat tech support, and they gave me a driver that made it work! This driver wasn't even labeled for my computer but it worked. Here's the link:

http://support.gateway.com/support/d...&uid=153742017

I hope this helps someone out there!
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 03-18-2007, 08:59 PM
bookworm's Avatar
bookworm Offline
Sound Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 15,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanCutaways
Hi, I seem to be having a similar problem to some people above. My PC crashed, so I reinstalled XP with service pack 2, and now it says 'No Audio Device', from what I've read about it seems to be a case of needing to install chipset drivers, does that sound right ? I'm a bit of a novice so I'm not entirely sure how to do it, can anyone help if i include mu PC details below ?

Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)


Motherboard:

CPU Type Intel Celeron, 2600 MHz (26 x 100)
Motherboard Name Epox EP-P4MKI-S (3 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8751A Apollo P4M266A
System Memory 480 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (03/02/04)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR (Microsoft Corporation) (32 MB)
3D Accelerator S3 ProSavageDDR
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (YENB055767)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller


Is that enough info ? Any help would be greatly appreciated !

This is the link to your Epox motherboard, audio is C-Media
http://www.epox.com/usa/downloads.asp

select
Driver/Software
EP-P4MKI

SET A SYSTEM RESTORE POINT BEFORE INSTALLING JUST IN CASE

Hope this helps
__________________
Hope this helps

Barbara MCP

Friends are
Gods apology
for relations.


It's not what you know, it's who you know ( especially the members of the Software Tips&Tricks Forum )
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 03-23-2007, 11:53 PM
bcbcbc52 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Thumbs up thanks Valiante

Thanks so much Valiante, your scenario one for "no sound...." worked great thanks again for the help
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 2.3.2 © 2005, Crawlability, Inc.