How To Guides - http://www.softwaretipsandtricks.com/guides
Post Operating System Upgrade Tasks
http://www.softwaretipsandtricks.com/guides/articles/141/1/Post-Operating-System-Upgrade-Tasks/Page1.html
By Super Admin
Published on 06/21/2011
 
Post Operating System Upgrade Tasks

Post Operating System Upgrade Tasks

1. Testing Installed Software
Check all your software programs to see if they are working. If any are not, try reinstalling the application or visit the software vendor’s Web site to get XP updates for the program. If they still don’t work, go to “Fixing a problem” in the “Help and Support Center” to get help in solving application and software problems.

2. Testing Installed Hardware
Check if all the hardware is working. Right-click on My Computer, and go to Properties > Hardware, and click on Device Manager. See if there are any problematic devices; double-click to see the properties page and the error code. See the Troubleshooting Hardware Device Conflicts in Windows section of this guide to understand what the Device Manager error codes mean, and their possible resolution. Update the drivers as applicable by right-clicking on the problematic device and selecting Update Driver. Leave the XP setup CD in the drive and try the option “Install the software automatically (Recommended)”. If that doesn’t work, get the updated Windows XP driver from the manufacturer. If that fails, go to “Fixing a problem” in the “Help and Support Center” to get help in solving application and software problems.

3. Run Windows Update
Update your installation of Windows XP with all the patches, other updates, and service packs by connecting to the Windows Update site.

4. Defragment your hard disk
The upgrade would have made your system files heavily fragmented. Open My Computer, right-click the installation drive (usually C:), select Properties, click on the Tools tab, and select “Defragment Now”.

5. Customise
Further customise the system—wallpapers, screensavers, etc. You are now ready to use Windows XP!

Use Windows XP for a few weeks to verify that everything is working correctly. Once this is confirmed, go to Add or Remove Programs. Remove the option to revert to your old system. This will save on disk space, but be warned that there is no going back to your previous OS once you remove it.